Oh lazy day

Image

It is 10:20 am and I am on my second cup of coffee. Everyone is hungry (except for the baby of course), and I am still in my nightgown and robe. I have no intention of getting up anytime soon. I will not change out of my pajamas and I will enjoy this cup of coffee.

 On a normal weekday I have accomplished several things by now. Normally, by now I have been up for over four hours, gotten dressed, gotten two other people dressed, fed four people, done the dishes,  and have taken out the trash, if it is Wednesday.

 Not today though, because today is Sunday. I am following the same routine I do on Saturdays. I didn’t get out of my pajamas yesterday until after  11. I love the weekends. When it is the weekend I can sleep in until 7 and sometimes 8, if I am lucky. In parentland this is “sleeping in”. If you have kids, you can understand.

The weekends carry an unspoken credo between my family and I. The house is a mess from yesterday when I did not clean, there are dirty dishes in the sink, no one has eaten, and I am sitting on the couch writing this blog and watching HGTV, but no one blinks an eye.

There are many other benefits that come with the weekend. My favorite one is that Sunday is daddy’s diaper day.  Monday-Saturday I change all the diapers, every one, without complaint. In exchange, on Sunday daddy changes all the diapers.  It’s the best idea I’ve ever had.

In a little bit I will say “Babe I am hungry” and, because he is awesome and because he understands that today is my day to be lazy, Babe will respond back “ok, what should we get?”  

It’s not like during the week when I feel like having a lazy day. There are days when the baby doesn’t sleep too much, or I am overwhelmed with laundry, or days I have spent running errands, paying the bills and have forgotten to thaw something out. On days like that I just don’t feel like cooking.

When he comes home and realizes there will be no dinner, I see nothing but disappointment written all over his face.  I will ask if we can just order something and as disappointed as he is, he complies. I will usually exaggerate a headache or use menstrual cramps as an excuse just to lighten the burden of guilt, but today I don’t have to do that.

I am going to get up and get dressed now. I was just told that Shari’s sounded good for breakfast and that we should go. I am going to have the French toast.

Happy Sunday to all you moms out there! I hope you are able to enjoy a lazy day!

8 thoughts on “Oh lazy day

  1. Pingback: Oh lazy day | amysdirtylaundry

  2. You lucky girl! As I’m a stay-at-home mum, my husband sees my whole week as a weekend, so I’m expected to carry on as normal. He, on the other hand, will ALWAYS take a lie-in (never mind that I’ve only had 3 unbroken nights sleep in 2 years) and would NEVER ask what I’d like for breakfast. I like the sound of your set-up more.

Leave a Reply

